Hi All,

We use an old version of sharepoint in work (but I think this applies to SP2007 also).

Basically I think this maybe occurs when you install different apps from Office 2003/2007 in certain sequences (this may include 2007 viewers/trial versions?) which messes offices tiny little massive brain up.  I think Visio 2003 was the tipping point for me.

Either way, trying to open a word doc (or other?) from a sharepoint site makes IE (7 in my case) go BOOOOOM!

These threads help fix it for me –

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/sharepointadmin/thread/a2c1b98a-2259-4d70-b15b-ceb2eb549e50/

This wasn’t related to my bug but may help someone – http://support.microsoft.com/kb/938888

I basically, renamed OWSSUPP.DLL to OWSSUPP.DLL-old whereever it resided in –

C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10

C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office11 (just here for me)

C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office12

Then ran Microsoft Office Diagnostics for good effect, retried IE7, done

! Too early to see any side effects of this, your mileage may vary, good luck … .. .

